Sint Maarten mapSINT MAARTEN
Saint Martin (French: Saint-Martin; Dutch: Sint Maarten) is an island in the northeast Caribbean, approximately 300 km east of Puerto Rico.

The 87 square km island is divided roughly 61/39 between France (53 square km) and the Netherlands (34 square km); the two parts are roughly equal in population.

It is the smallest sea island divided between two nations with inhabitants. The division dates to 1648.

It encompasses the southern half of the Caribbean island of Saint Martin, while the northern half of the island constitutes the French overseas collectivity of Saint-Martin.

Sint Maarten is a constituent country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. Its capital is Philipsburg.