Switzerland map
Switzerland is a mountainous and landlocked country located in Western Europe. It is surrounded by 5 countries: Austria and Liechtenstein to the east, France to the west, Italy to the south and Germany to the north. Switzerland is one of the smallest countries in Europe, with a maximum north-south length of 220 km and an east-west length of about 350 km.

Switzerland is well known for the Alps in the south and south east. North of the Alps, the Swiss plateau runs along the east-west axis of the country. Most of the population of Switzerland lives on the rolling hills and plains of the plateau.

Switzerland is divided into 26 sovereign cantons. The cantons along the Swiss plateau tend to be the most populous and industrial. The cantons in the Alps tend to be less populous and have an agrarian or tourism-based economy.

Switzerland is also divided by language. There are 4 official languages; German 63.7% of population, French 20.4% of population, Italian 6.5% of population and Romansh 0.5% of population. From Bern east (except Ticino) the population generally speaks German. West of Bern, the population generally speaks French. In the southern Canton of Ticino, most people speak Italian. Romansh, a group of dialects descended from Vulgar Latin, is spoken in several regions in the canton of Graub√ľnden.