Paraguay map
The Republic of Paraguay is a landlocked country in South America. It is bordered by Argentina to the south and southwest, Brazil to the east and northeast, and Bolivia to the northwest.

Due to its central location in South America, it is sometimes referred to as the Heart of America. The capital and largest city is Asuncion.

The Paraguay River divides the country into strikingly different eastern and western regions. Both the eastern region and the western region (the Chaco) gently slope toward and are drained into the Paraguay River, which separates and unifies the two regions.

Paraguay straddles the Tropic of Capricorn and experiences both subtropical and tropical climates.