AFI Latin America 9s logo
Australian Football International (AFI) is pleased to announce that planning has commenced to stage the inaugural Latin America 9s in 2025.

The tournament will be held in Santiago, Chile and is open to national teams from Latin America.

The event follows on from the great success of the World 9s, Masters 9s and Darwin 9s, which have been crucial in developing Footy 9s in Australia.

We are delighted to bring this exciting new format to Latin America!

Please watch the video below as an example of how the tournament will run.

Event Format

  • 9-a-side (maximum of 15 players per squad)
  • 2 Divisions – Men’s & Women’s
  • Matches will commence every 40 minutes to facilitate a carnival type atmosphere
  • Each match consists of 2 x 15 minute halves, plus 3 minutes for half-time
  • Each team will play a minimum of 3 matches during the event
  • Each team will play in their national colours
  • 2 Grand Finals – Men’s & Women’s Divisions