2023 MASTERS 9s

Australian Football International (AFI) is pleased to confirm that the Masters 9s will be returning to Melbourne in 2025.

As with the World 9s, the Masters 9s forms part of our strategy to have Footy 9s included in the Olympic Games.

We are delighted to bring this exciting new version of the game back to Masters Football.

The inaugural Masters 9s were held in Melbourne in November 2021.

2021 Results
Men’s (35+) champions: Ascot Vale Panthers
Men’s (47 and over) champions: Melbourne Lions
Women’s (35 and over) champions: Melbourne Lions

2022 Results
Men’s (35+) champions: Diamond Valley Magpies
Men’s (47 and over) champions: Diamond Valley Magpies
Women’s (35 and over) champions: Port Melbourne Colts

Event Format

  • One day round robin tournament in Melbourne
  • 9-a-side (maximum of 15 players per squad)
  • 18 competing teams
  • 3 x Playing Fields
  • 3 Divisions – Men’s (35+), Men’s (47 and over) and Women’s (35 and over)
  • Matches will commence every 40 minutes to facilitate a carnival type atmosphere
  • Each match consists of 2 x 15 minute halves, plus 3 minutes for half-time
  • Each team will play a minimum of 3 matches during the event
  • 3 x Grand Finals – Men’s (35+), Men’s (47 and over) and Women’s (35 and over)

For more information about the Masters 9s please visit www.aflinternational.com/masters9s